Roofs we can call our own and my partner’s brains (TGP Musing 3)

Standard

The Gratitude Project – Musing 3

I certainly am grateful that my family and I have a roof over our heads (albeit one that we might need to fix soon, but one that still shelters us from the snow, rain, and wind as we sup on hot home cooked food and drink chilled, very much not home cooked Bailey’s Irish Cream).

You know what, despite it occasionally being a pain in the butt, I am grateful we’re paying off a mortgage (for the next 20 years, but who’s counting?) rather than renting – I’m at that stage in life where transnational rootedness is preferred over transient flexibility. And even if our savings dip a bit, I’m kinda excited at the possibility of having an all-season garden in the front yard and a mini MMA gym in the garage!

Finally, I don’t say this enough, but I’m so bloody grateful for Sus and her brains – she keeps us as a family and a community ticking in ways I cannot even comprehend. She is our grand matriarch and I will forever be her loyal pet lout.

All hail the goddesses of the universe – divine and earthly.

Leave a Reply

