Thankful to be of southern color – TGP Musing 14

Standard

The Gratitude Project – Musing 14

I despise being born with the unearned benefits of manhood, just as I’m grateful that I was born of color in this world.

I despise being born with the unearned benefits of a privileged social class, just as I’m grateful that I emerged out of a brutalized global south.

For my two great loves and I have looked deep into the heart of white privilege and western civilization…

And all we ever seem to find is soullessness.

Occasionally glittery, often pathetic, always destructive.

*sigh*

When, oh, when will our gora brothers and sisters liberate themselves from the soullessness of white privilege they cling onto with such fearful entitlement?

When, oh, when will we of the privileged West, liberate ourselves from the soullessness of endless greed and perennial discontentment?

When, oh, when will I stop lamenting about the state of the world and just be grateful that I have love in my life?

(Not much chance of any of these happening in the near future.)

Leave a Reply

