The toughest lesson I’ve had to learn as a parent…

Standard

My ego is often really, really unnecessary.

This is easy enough to digest as a pithy maxim, but harder to internalize when the ego has been so reliable during times of past struggle.

I have long stopped looking at one’s ego as good or bad. It just is. An unmistakable part of the self.

A part that needs constant reigning in and many times complete abandonment.

Letting go of that ego is useful for resiliency in general, but especially true when nurturing kids.

Whether one likes it or not, that bloody ego will get reigned in.

These little rascals will keep me on my toes for life now.

With good reason too.

For my children know who the real brat of the house is.

Indeed, I think deep down, he hopes they never stop being naughty.

(Cos then he has to stop too.)

Leave a comment