Ego and Anger – my two worst addictions.

Standard
But it’s always time to fight the good fight.

No experience – now lifelong and ongoing – has brought forth my numerous shortcomings with as much brutal honesty as parenting has

My dumb rage and my mindless id.

How do I get rid of my addictions to ego and anger?

These very peculiar conditions of our species?

I am so done with them.

I don’t want to be a raging egomaniac any more.

(Fact is, I’m finally just getting smart enough to realize that I don’t know shit.)

Off late, on my daily walks with my bestie Molly, I’ve been reflecting on the various ways in which I might have been a piece of shit to people in the past. Especially my loved ones.

I know there have been many moments in the past when I was an asshole, a bully, or just…you know, a dick.

Age brings wisdom.

Sadly wisdom is not a time machine.

Now, like any other human, I too occasionally wallow in the different ways I might have been wronged in my life.

But I don’t really focus as much on the ways I have wronged others now, do I? I’m realizing that doing this intentionally can be a helpful exercise in humility. My acid tongue and fuck-you personality feel embarrassing now in real time.

Realizing that I can be a bit of a dick sometimes helps in tempering that raging id.

Leave a comment